Skip to content

C. H. Spurgeon and Saving Faith

July 18, 2007

From Iain Murray’s The Forgotten Spurgeon:

I have sometimes thought when I have heard addresses from revival brethren who had kept on saying time after time “Believe, believe, believe,” that I should like to have known for myself what it was we were to believe in order to our salvation. There is, I fear a great deal of vagueness and crudeness about this matter. I have heard it often asserted that if you believe that Jesus Christ died for you, you will be saved. My dear hearer, do not be deluded by such an idea. You may believe Jesus Christ died for you, and may believe what is not true; you may believe that which will bring you no sort of good whatever. This is not saving faith. The man who has saving faith afterwards attains to the conviction that Christ died for him, but it is not of the essence of saving faith. Do not get that into your head, or it will ruin you. Do not say, “I believe that Jesus Christ died for me,” and because of that feel that you are saved. I pray you remember that the genuine faith that saves the soul has for its main element – trust – absolute rest of the whole soul – on the Lord Jesus Christ to save me, whether he died in particular or in special to save me or not, and relying, as I am, wholly and alone on him, I am saved. Afterwards I come to perceive that I have a special interest in the Saviour’s blood; but if I think I have perceived that, before I have believed in Christ, then I have taken as fruit of my faith that which is only to be obtained by rights, by the man who absolutely trusts in Christ, and Christ alone, to save.

It took reading this passage a few times to grasp everything that he was saying, but afterwards, it was a good thing to meditate on and think about for my presentations of the Gospel and my own personal life, as I attempt live out the Gospel.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

