Skip to content

We Have a Son

September 13, 2007

My wife and I, yesterday, received news that our new baby (due Jan. 18) is a boy!  We are very excited and Corinne, our two your old, is starting to put pieces together and is excited too.  We sat in the doctor’s office staring at sonogram pictures of our new son’s legs, head, feet, and hands.  Excitement and newness overwhelmed us, especially since the excitement and newness had not been there like it was with our first child.  Business has stunted much reflection on the arrival of our new addition to our family – as you can probably tell by the rate of my blogging this month.  Yet, looking at the pictures, watching the heartbeat, and observing him wiggle his legs and hands put a weighty reminder on my heart:  I have the blessing of a new soul to care for.

I say ‘new soul’ because my care has eternal implications.  I am responsible before God for my children.  God has designed in this world that the fathers be a sign post of the heavenly Father.  If I sleep in as late as possible, get up, get dressed just in time to pat my kids on the head and kiss my wife before I head out the door, come home and sit in front of the TV, put my kids to bed just in time to watch some more TV, I will have absolutely no spiritual influence on my children.  I believe that is the quickest way to send my kids to hell.  I am not taking their own spiritual responsibility away and placing it primarily on me, but if I want to know what would be the best way to keep my children from the Kingdom of God, the daily routine above would be a good way to accomplish that.

There is no other higher spiritual influence on my children than myself – for better or for worse.  Not even my church.  I have all the more reasons to wake up early to read and meditate over God’s Word so that my words towards my children are seasoned with the wisdom and grace of the Bible.  I have all the more reasons to pray, that the Father, who by his immeasurable power raised Jesus from the dead and seated him at his right hand, would work that same power in my children’s heart.  I have all the more reason to fight sin, for my children will see how to fight sin by my example -for better or for worse.  I have all the more reason to pray at dinner time and in the evening with meaning, seriousness, and with purpose, not with meaningless repititional phrases of thanksgiving and blessing, for my children will primarily learn how to pray by my example.  I have all the more reason to love my wife as Christ loves the Church and gave himself up for her, for my children will daily see the gospel through our relationship.  I have all the more reason to fight pride and all presumptuous sin, for my children will either see a godly father or a godless one.  If my example is a godless example, my children will either follow in my lead or struggle their entire lives to break that example in their own hearts despite me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2007 12:29 pm

    Congratulations brother! My wife and I are awaiting the ultrasound next month! We have two boys already and are convinced we are having a girl. As a dad who is extremely busy and struggling with the same thoughts as you, the only thing I have found that “helps” me with this struggle is to pray for my boys and wife as often as possible throughout the day and then to spend as much time as I can with them. Usually, my quality time with my oldest is laying on the floor and being jumped on!

    God bless you brother. I will be praying for you and your family.

    Terry Delaney

  2. September 13, 2007 9:40 pm

    Congrats, brother! My wife and I are expecting around the same time as well (Jan. 28), but we have elected to be surprised as to the sex. Okay, I elected and convinced my wife to go along. 😉

    I find myself having the exact same thoughts as you while also finding myself guilty of the same. It is difficult to attempt to change your habits when they have become a routine. I will be praying that you and I will not fall into the trap of old routines when our wives and children need us!

Leave a Reply

