Skip to content

My Short and Difficult history with “Communion with God”

September 19, 2007

Justin Taylor, Kelly Kapic and Crossway have updated, edited, and republished John Owen’s Communion with GodI have a short and difficult history with this wonderful book.  A while back I attempted at reading Owen’s classic on communion with the Triune God.  I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed reading part I, Communion with the Father.  And I thoroughly enjoyed reading part III, Communion with the Holy Spirit.  But I had a difficult time getting through part II, Communion with the Son, which is of course the largest section of the book.  I have never read a book that has made my heart swell in joy and devotion, and yet pages later completely loose me in the argument.  Honestly, I couldn’t handle the emotional swing.  The other books I have read of him, you either had hard, difficult, archaic “latinized” (I am pretty sure I just made up that word) language and you expected a hard go at it and it just took patience (i.e. Death of Death) or you had great devotional and glorious books that you expected to sit and let the Holy Spirit move through the affectionate Puritan language to your heart (i.e. The Glory of Christ, The Mortification of Sin, Sin and Grace).  Communion with God has both hard, difficult, Trinitarian arguments and glorious, affectionate Puritan language that really almost made my eyes pop.  Yet, in the past week or so I have picked it back up again, fully prepared for the pendulum swing of emotion set before me.  I am going to have another go at it, and hopefully I will get through Part II this time, and not skip to part III.  Has anyone else had a difficult time with Owen’s Communion with God?  It would be nice to know that others have had a similar bout.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

