Skip to content

John Calvin Painting by Phil Starke

October 29, 2009

DSC04465

My father, Phil Starke, sent me a very special gift in the mail yesterday.  He is an artist, professionally, and, also a reformed Christian.  He did his first painting of a Reformer or Church history figure and sent it to me as a gift.  This is a painting of John Calvin to commemorate his 500th birthday.  I wish I had a better camera to capture this image.  Its an amazing painting.  What a treasure for our household to cherish!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Galen Borden permalink
    October 29, 2009 3:14 pm

    That is a great pic he did. I just finished reading the Calvin article at this link:

    http://www.biola.edu/news/biolamag/articles/09fall/aboutbible.cfm

    Thanks for the link to “Here I Stand”. I spread it around out here and it is appreciated by all.

    Happy Ref Day.

    • jbstarke permalink*
      October 29, 2009 5:14 pm

      Happy Ref Day as well!

    • jbstarke permalink*
      October 29, 2009 7:26 pm

      I actually took that in our sun-room!

  2. Lisa Blanco permalink
    November 2, 2009 12:37 pm

    OH my gosh! awesome! I asked Dad to paint us something like spurgeon.

Leave a Reply

