Skip to content

The Authority of God

January 18, 2010

“For when God made a promise to Abraham since he had no one greater by whom to swear, he swore by himself”  Hebrews 6:13.

If someone approached my daughter and asked her name, she would say, “Corinne.”  If they ask her, “How do you know your name is Corinne?”, she would respond by referring them to her parents.  We are the ones who named her and we have a birth certificate in our files.

If someone asked if I was married, I would respond with a joyful yes! But if they asked me to prove it, I would refer to the wedding ring on my finger, I could provide our marriage certificate, I could bring them home and show them my wife, I could call the minister who resided over our ceremony, etc.

If someone were to approach God, asking what surety is there in his promises, God only has himself to refer to.  There is no other authority outside of himself to point us to.  God is the last reference point.

Something to ponder as we attempt to, more and more, rightly have a knowledge of our self and of God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

